About AttoChem

AttoChem Action is an interdisciplinary network supported by COST, whose main objective is to design attosecond light pulses and attosecond control strategies that can efficiently be used to induce unusual charge migration dynamics in molecules, isolated or in solution, so that one can selectively break and form chemical bonds, thus leading to new chemical reactions or avoiding the expected ones. This will be achieved through the specific objectives detailed in an Action Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

Researchers interested in the field of Attosecond Science may obtain further information in this web site or at the Action’s web page on COST site.

Management structures and procedures within AttoChem Action will seek for simplicity, flexibility and efficiency, and will be based on COST Annotated Rules.

The Management Committee (MC), as governing body of the Action, will meet once per year. Other urgent matters will be dealt with by electronic means. MC members rights and powerss are described in the COST Annotated Rules.

The Core Group (CG) is the executive body in charge of supervising the overall network activities, taking urgent decisions on behalf of the MC, and act as delegated by Action MC. It is composed by the Action Chair, Vice-Chair, WG Leaders, Grant Awarding Coordinator, Scientific Communication Coordinator, STSM-Coordinator, and COST Policies Coordinators. They will communicate by email and virtual meetings anytime is required but not less than every 3 months.

  • Three Working Group Leaders will guide and supervise the research efforts within each WG, lead scientific discussions and provide annual reports on the WG progress.
  • The Grant Awarding Coordinator coordinates the awarding by the Action of Grants to support the mobility of Researchers and Innovators and the presentation of Action  results at a conference organised by a third party, based on procedures approved by MC and with the support of other CG members.
  • The Science Communication Coordinator (SCC) is responsible for the communication and dissemination strategy, to enable the Action achieving its objectives and to increase
    the visibility of the network, playing a crucial role in bridging the gap between the Action scientific achievements and the public.
  • Three COST Policies Coordinators (CPC) will supervise the implementation of COST policies (Excellence, Inclusiveness and Participation of non-COST Countries and Specific Organizations) and send recommendations in case of deviations. They will coordinate efforts to widen the Action impact by contacting nearby communities, promoting international cooperation, and attracting and establishing liaisons with industry (especially, SMEs). One of them will also coordinate the Inclusiveness Target Countries Conference Grants (ITC-CG) applications, rules and procedures, based on CG decisions.

An Advisory Board (AB) composed by a set of MC Observers from NNC or IPC Approved Institutions and some SME representatives will be in charge to monitor the implementation of the network, international dimension and impact, and send suggestions either to CPCs or to MC/CG members.

Contact details for main AttoChem Leadership roles:

  • Action Chair: Prof Fernando MARTÍN (ES)
  • Action Vice-Chair : Prof Francesca CALEGARI (IT)
  • Grant Awarding Coordinator: position yet to be filled
  • STSM Coordinator: Prof Bernard PIRAUX (BE)
  • Science Communication Coordinator (SCC): Dr Aurora PONZI (HR)
  • CPC on Geographical Inclusiveness and ITC-CG Manager: Prof. Agnes VIBÓK (HU)
  • CPC on Gender Balance: Dr Violeta PETROVIC (RS)
  • CPC on Early Career Investigators (ECI): Dr Iva BREZINOVA (AT)
  • Advisory Board: It is composed by L. Argenti (US), L. DiMauro (US), K. Ueda (JP), M. García (ES), T. Metzger (DE)

Contact details of Action MC members can be found at COST: https://www.cost.eu/actions/CA18222/

The Action Grant Holder (GH) is the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (ES). Question related to Action funds can be addressed to:

Our main contacts at COST Association are: